My TBR pile is now sentient.

It’s beginning to stress me out a little, this lady-riffic TBR pile of mine, that has well surpassed a million words in its totality.

It includes sequels by Mary Doria Russell, Catherynne M. Valente, Mary Robinette Kowal, Alma Alexander, Aliette de Bodard, N.K. Jemisin, and Malinda Lo.

Within it there are multiple award-winners I’ve been looking forward to reading such as Karen Lord and Nnedi Okorafor, as well as 2014 debut novels by several lady authors (the latter that I’m most excited about is Mary Rickert’s The Memory Garden; her short fiction has won several SF/F awards).

There are several new-to-me novels by favorite authors of mine, such as Nicola Griffith and Octavia Butler, and a tiny handful of novellas, anthologies, and YA books.

It includes a couple of related works that just look cool, like Krista D. Ball’s What Kings Ate and Wizards Drank, which is basically a narrative history of food in the Middle Ages and includes recipes, the logistics of feeding an army, and the process of preparing a king’s feast.

The number of books in my TBR pile stands at twenty-five. These are merely the books I have already purchased. It does not yet include, for example, the Mythopoeic Award nominees for this year (yet to be announced, but I plan on getting a membership this year so I can vote and go to the convention). It does not yet include authors who are in my “to check out” list such as Hiromi Goto, Ursula Vernon, Andrea Hairston, Sofia Samatar, and Jane Yolen. Nor even stories whose authors have I have recently read that piqued my interest, such as Martha Wells, Mari Ness, and Nisi Shawl.

But — but– where are all the SF/F books written by women?

They’re hanging out at my house, y’all.

This entry was posted in Books, Fantasy, feminism, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My TBR pile is now sentient.

  1. “What Kings Ate and Wizards Drank” looks so f_in cool! Yey. I have an Andrea Hairston book on my pile as well, Mindscape I think it was. If only we had a hive mind, then these tbr piles would be a lot easier.

    • cecilykane says:

      If only! Mindscape is the one in my secondary TBR pile (the one consisting mostly of ebook samples I haven’t gotten around to looking at yet) as well.
      Looking forward to Ball’s book muchly, but as I’m going to try to get to all my fave lady-authors nominated for Locus and Hugo Awards so that I can review and promote them, it’s going to have to wait a bit. It is going to be a busy couple of months up in here.

Leave a Reply

