Book Giveaway: Sleep Donation

kr_sleepdonOkay, so it’s my first time trying this and I hope I don’t screw it up, but I’m doing an e-book giveaway contest for Karen Russell’s 2014 novella Sleep Donation, which I reviewed yesterday. This book is summarily awesome and totally deserving of a nomination for next year’s Hugo ballot.

(I read it in one sitting. I can’t remember the penultimate time I read a book in one sitting, but I suspect it was several years before I was old enough to be eligible to rent a car.)

And frankly, because literati snobs confuse the fact that literary fiction and genre fiction are not opposites but in fact overlap very frequently, this book (as well as most other books by this author) could use some help with finding its genre audience. It’s marketed as literary fiction and not as science fiction, and that’s a load of bollocks in this humble blogger’s opinion. It’s both.

To participate, leave a comment on this blog post in the next 48 hours or so — by Wednesday at noon, CST. You can write about why you’d like to read this book. Or what you think about post-apocalyptic books in general. Or what topic you’d like to see me post about in this blog, or what author you think I should check out. Or whatever.

I’ll choose a winner at random (probably with a random number generator) so technically you can post whatever you want, but try to keep it substantive and at least vaguely SF/F related because I will like you more.

The hairy part of this is that I don’t know how to deal with overseas stuff. This novella is available as an e-book only, but whether or not someone outside of the U.S. can receive it would depend, I imagine, on whether it’s been released in that country. So if I can get it to you, I will, but readers outside of the U.S. may want to check if it’s available via Amazon or B&N in your country before you do the work of crafting your substantive comment. If it so happens that the winner can’t get ahold of the book, I’ll try to figure something out.

Thanks to everyone who participates!

This entry was posted in Books, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Giveaway: Sleep Donation

  1. Joachim Boaz says:

    I would suspect that Russelll would not want to be on the Hugo ballot — she definitely considers herself mainstream literature and has quite some success with novels such as Swamplandia! which was one of the finalists for the 2012 Pulitzer Prize and other short story collections… So, yeah, she’s aiming higher πŸ˜‰ and the Hugo is a wreck of an award anyway.

  2. Omg. Saw this on the amazon kindle book store. Looked and sounded so crazy interesting! I definitely want to read it for my blog. Gorgeous cover art, btw. πŸ™‚

  3. Crap! It is now way later than 48 hours after you posted this. Guess you’ve already chosen a winner and such then? Ah well. Maybe next time I’ll be more on top of shit.

Leave a Reply

